HooptownGTA Forums

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
HooptownGTA Forums

The Greater Toronto Area High School Basketball Forums

3 posters

TRANSFERS

balleronthecomeup45
    Freshman

Number of posts : 22
    Registration date : 2012-01-01

TRANSFERS Empty TRANSFERS

Post by balleronthecomeup45 Sun Jan 01, 2012 8:43 pm

Hi everyone,
    I am a student in peel district school board and im looking to transfer to a Dufferin peel Catholic school board and i am currently on my schools jr team i would like to know if i would have to sit out a season because of transfers if so why??
    Answer back asap thankyou Very Happy
    Xavier Rimrocker
    Xavier Rimrocker
    All-Star

Number of posts : 2073
    Registration date : 2008-07-26

TRANSFERS Empty Re: TRANSFERS

Post by Xavier Rimrocker Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:19 am

CoachIan
    Freshman

Number of posts : 56
    Registration date : 2010-01-12

Post by CoachIan Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:03 pm

From what I have learned. If you transfer schools to a different region you can play but if you transfer school in the same region you have to sit a year.

So if you are coming from Toronto to Peel you can. Peel public school to Peel catholic school you can't. This was to stop students from transferring to a powerhouse school just to get on a better team.

Xavier Rimrocker
    Xavier Rimrocker
    All-Star

Number of posts : 2073
    Registration date : 2008-07-26

Post by Xavier Rimrocker Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:33 pm

CoachIan wrote:From what I have learned. If you transfer schools to a different region you can play but if you transfer school in the same region you have to sit a year.

So if you are coming from Toronto to Peel you can. Peel public school to Peel catholic school you can't. This was to stop students from transferring to a powerhouse school just to get on a better team.

This is incorrect. Once you have entered high school, transfer rules apply to all students.